Iggy Loomis, Superkid in Training

by Jennifer Allison                                     iggyloomis.com

A hilarious new illustrated middle grade science fiction series for elementary school readers and fans of Captain UnderpantsIggy Loomis is the weirdest little brother ever—and he’s a huge pain in his older brother Daniel’s you-know-what.  But when Daniel befriends Alistair, his new next-door-neighbor, Iggy gets much, much weirder. Little does Daniel know… Alistair is really an alien.  When Iggy thinks he’s eating Alistair’s candy, he’s actually eating chemically-coated insects.  Yuck!  Soon Iggy’s DNA starts to mutate, and Daniel and Alistair have to keep Iggy’s new superpowers from manifesting—before everyone gets in trouble.

On the Wings of Heroes

by Richard Peck                

Davy Bowman’s dad looks forward to Halloween more than a kid, and Davy’s brother, Bill, flies B-17s.  Davy adores these two heroes and tries his best to follow their lead, especially now.  World War II has invaded Davy’s homefront boyhood. Bill has joined up, breaking their dad’s heart.  It’s an intense, confusing time, and one that will spur Davy to grow up in a hurry.  This is one of Richard Peck’s finest novels—a tender, unforgettable portrait of the World War II home front and a family’s enduring love.

Rump:  The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin

by Liesl Shurtliff                           lieslshurtliff.com

In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke.  But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change.  Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right.  With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse.  To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen.  The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—he just might triumph in the end.

The Sixty-Eight Rooms

by Marianne Malone                                mariannemalone.com

Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love the first exciting Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure—the perfect next step for kids who loved the Magic Tree House series, and readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck! Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms.  Housed in the deep inside the Chicago Art Institute they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature rooms.  Each room is set in a different historic period, and every detail is perfect.  Some might even say, the rooms are magic.  Imagine—what if on a field trip, you discovered a key that allowed you to shrink so that you could sneak inside and explore the rooms' secrets?  What if you discovered that others had done so before you?  And that someone had left something important behind?

Star Wars:  Jedi Academy
by Jeffrey Brown                           jeffreybrowncomics.blogspot.com

New York Times bestselling author/illustrator Jeffrey Brown takes readers to a middle school in a galaxy far, far away....  This incredible, original story captures all of the humor, awkwardness, fun, and frustrations of middle school--all told through one boy's comics, journal entries, letters, doodles, and newspaper clippings.  The setting?  A galaxy far, far away...Roan's one dream is to leave home and attend Pilot Academy like his older brother, father, and grandfather.  But just as Roan is mysteriously denied entrance to Pilot School, he is invited to attend Jedi Academy--a school that he didn't apply to and only recruits children when they are just a few years old.  That is, until now...This inventive novel follows Roan's first year at Jedi Academy where, under the tutelage of Master Yoda, he learns that he possesses more strength and potential than he could have ever dreamed.  Oh, and he learns other important things too--like how to make a baking soda volcano, fence with a lightsaber, slow dance with a girl, and lift boulders with the Force.

What the Moon Said
by Gayle Rosengren                                             www.gaylerosengren.com

Fans of the Little House books will fall in love with Esther.  Thanks to her superstitious mother, Esther knows some tricks for avoiding bad luck: toss salt over your left shoulder, never button your shirt crooked, and avoid black cats. But even luck can't keep her family safe from the Great Depression. When Pa loses his job, Esther's family leaves their comfy Chicago life behind for a farm in Wisconsin.  Living on a farm comes with lots of hard work, but that means there are plenty of opportunities for Esther to show her mother how helpful she can be. She loves all of the farm animals (except the mean geese) and even better makes a fast friend in lively Bethany. But then Ma sees a sign that Esther just knows is wrong. If believing a superstition makes you miserable, how can that be good luck?  Debut author Gayle Rosengren brings the past to life in this extraordinary, hopeful story.